Shifting from teacher to learner …

Extracting “big ideas” is the key – how can we apply what we learn to other things?

I spent a week out of my teaching role, in the role of the student learner for a week. Much of what I was engaged in was challenging and I felt uncomfortable. I found myself going for walks, getting water and chatting with my peers. These experiences always serve as reminders of how our learners feel every day.
The transferable ideas that I am reminded of from this learning experience are applicable to all ages, in all learning areas and in any language. There are things that I want to remember about my learners and there are things that I want to remember for my teaching. Most are things that are applicable to learners and teachers, sometimes simultaneously, sometimes not.

  • At times we need to think with like-minded people. At times we need to think with people who think in completely different ways.
  • Theory can be interesting. When absolutely necessary, telling leaners what we (teachers)  know needs to be in small bursts and broken up by them talking and thinking to construct meaning.
  • Giving learners choice is vital –  in little things (where to sit; when to go for a walk; how to take notes) and big things (what they will do with what they are learning; how they will construct meaning).
  • “Just a minute, let me think” is a crucial mantra. Saying what we want to say, just as they start to think is detrimental.
  • Metacognition is important … making connections and seeing the relevance of what we are learning have great importance too.
  • Learners who feel insecure about what they know need structure. Giving too much structure to others is stifling. Find the balance.
  • We can grow and develop our brains – we need to believe this and challenge ourselves in order to do so.
  • Providing the opportunity for all students to be challenged is a fundamental part of what we do.
  • Human interaction (otherwise known as mediation) is the most important thing in learning. Rich language, feedback, guidance and reflection form the basis of all learning.
  • The instrument/ tool/content that we use to guide learners is secondary. The skills which they gain, that can be applied to different areas is primary.

Reflection has been vital in my understanding and application of what I learnt.

Do I provide enough time and space for meaningful reflection so that learning becomes relevant to my learners?

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported. I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Jina, Learning, learning support, Thinking. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Shifting from teacher to learner …

  1. Lana says:

    Jina it sounds like your course has been a huge learning experience! How fortunate are we to have such a reflective teacher on staff – who is able to transfer, apply and empathize. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment