Team teaching

I’m not sure that I understand what “synergy” means, but I am sure that I know what it feels like. I think it’s one of those things (like so many others) that we just take for granted. The way in which we “gel” with other people. That we read their cues and understand their facial expressions. It’s the way in which they know what we are thinking without us saying the words… The way a class runs successfully with two adults, a common agenda and a shared understanding and value of education, progress and who owns the learning.

Maybe it doesn’t happen every day that we are able to team teach with little preparation in the how, but rather in the why. Maybe it takes more than a few weeks of knowing each other to be able to disagree and model that dialogue in safe, non-judgemental way that children feel they are part of the discussion.
Maybe the way in which we are able to shut one another down with a question rather than a statement is rare. Maybe being part of a team really means forgetting the “I” and remembering the little people that the learning is about.

I guess it’s good to be able to reflect. To look at what is good, try to nurture and continue positive practices and evaluate how to make others better.

Today I had a rather “in my face” lesson about emulating other people, about being part of a synergy that shouldn’t be taken for granted and about valuing practices that really work.

When I asked my learners why it hadn’t gone so well, they said it was because, “We don’t know the class that well, we are used to being with the class next door …”.
Was it because I wasn’t used to the other teacher, was it that he didn’t read me, was it that I didn’t want to lead him by the collar and chain or that I expected too much? Or was it that I am used to “synergy”?- used to equal input (all be it in different ways), shared responsibility for getting children to take responsibility and remembering all the time that we are who are ?

The verdict …
I can’t be Sam, shouldn’t try. I can’t use other people’s presentations – I need to tweak and change to suit myself. And I should never take anything – especially synergy and great working relationships – for granted.

IMG_1859.JPG

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

