A slight dilemma

I’m going to a PD on Wednesday. On the one hand, I’m really looking forward to it. On the other hand, I’m really apprehensive. I am with my kids for six out of eight lessons this Wednesday. It’s that huge chunk of time that I’m always itching for. And I won’t be there! To top it off, we are starting a new unit on Monday.

I spent some time with our Director of Teaching and Learning/PYP Coordinator (Layla) last week planning the literacy to link in to the unit. I’m really excited and I want to implement what we discussed.

I really don’t want to leave “busy work” for my class. So … When life throws lemons , I’ll smash them with a tennis racquet and make some lemonade.I’ve spent time today finding two texts (both non-fiction ) that are completely different. My class will access them on Big Universe and I will upload a Key Note for them on our shared ELocker. They will be in pairs (mixed ability this time) so that they can share their thinking, inquiry and ideas.

I’m impressed by how I was able to apply what I learnt with Layla and how incredibly exciting it is to link this to what I already do. ( I burnt what I was supposed to be watching on the stove because I couldn’t leave my texts!). I’ve modelled things like finding verbs and creating adverbs to create more powerful images and developing similes about the “big ideas”. They will practise many skills that we have visited in class – direct speech,comparing and contrasting texts, paraphrasing, skimming and scanning…They will ask questions and reflect. I hope they will be as engaged and excited as I was to create the provocations and engagements in the slides that I will leave . I hope that that they will be independent learners and the person watching over them will be as blown away (as I am daily) by what they are thinking.

IMG_2224-0.JPG

IMG_2231.JPG

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Inquiry, Jina, Learning, Thinking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A slight dilemma

  1. lsacker says:

    How amazing it. Is to see opportunities to link literacy to what you do in such a meaningful way, I too get excited by the possibilities and rediscover each time we plan literacy the joy of language.

    Like

    • jbelnick says:

      Layla, what continues to excite me is how wonderful it is to think, plan and collaborate with others to extend my thinking and ignite those sparks that we need to learn and foster learning in our classrooms.

      Like

Leave a Reply

