School – home communication

How do we communicate with parents?

At our school, we have class blogs. Some people use them more, some use them less. We call parents once a term (or have parent teacher or three way interviews) and we are in contact via emails and texts.

We have started using Twitter as a tool to connect and learn with people in other places. Kids love the idea and are editing Tweets to get them down to 140 characters. Parents can follow us on Twitter and get emails when we put new posts on the blog.

The school sends out a weekly newsletter and each class teacher is expected to send a class newsletter out every month. I had a sneaky suspicion that the parents weren’t reading the class newsletters (you see, I am a parent who receives them for my children and I find the volume of text totally overwhelming). I did an informal survey when I saw some of the parents. Some (sheepishly) admitted not to opening them, some said they read them all, and some said they glanced through them. The ones who did open the email though, all said that they like the photos and look at them to see what the children have been doing.

So, now, when I create my newsletter, I take a collection of photos from the month – which I start collecting in a document the day I send the previous one. I insert text boxes and write ONE sentence or ONE phrase about what is happening in the images. Parents are “reading” my newsletters now. Some even share them with their children.

IMG_2396.PNG

My questions are :
Do we need newsletters if we have updated blogs?
How do you share the learning in your room?

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Jina and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

