New beginnings.

The year started in my head when the children left my class on the last day of last year.
How best will I position the desks?
How will we share our stationery and our space?
Ottomans, floor space, clutter … Eventually I needed to switch off.
And so, I did. I read, I slept, I cruised and I took time out to be a Mum (rather than the “teacher mum” my son tells me not to be).

So, when I stepped back into the school zone this year, the questions around space, stationery etc were all still there. After a chat with our teaching coach, (@Jocpypchat)
I decided to let it all go. So I stacked up the tables, put the chairs into a circle and piled up all the stationery.

IMG_2719

When my new class comes in, they let me know how they are feeling by putting their names into a Venn diagram and I am impressed by their honesty.

IMG_2708-2

We chat using the protocols from Meeting Wise about what everyone should know about us and how we spent our holidays. Then, we decide it’s time to set up the room. We divide into groups based on when we were born (preparing to collect data soon) and collaborate for the first time. The result is a haphazard placement of desks and some kids sitting inside a circle.

IMG_2709-0

I leave school on the first day of term feeling a bit unsure of how the day went. Then, I check my email to find that this : “Thank you for such a great day. I really enjoyed it, you are such a great and exciting teacher and I can’t wait to see the things that we will do in the year. You’re nicer then nice and you are very helpful and polite.”

I think we will learn how this class works together.

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Inquiry, Jina, Learning, ownership and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

