“And I think to myself … What a wonderful world”.

I had the misfortune of stumbling over a piece of wire in the street today.
Unable to help myself, as I got up, I began to reflect on what happened and how I could use the incident to show the learners in my class what journaling could look like when it’s authentic.

So, I wrote a blog post about my experience and I published it, ready for some analysis and thinking tomorrow. Trying to gather momentum on the class blog, I Tweeted about the post, hoping to start a conversation about blogging and teaching writing.

When two of my colleagues (one past and one present) responded with immediate care, and the mother of one of the learners commented on the post, the cogs started turning again.

How come, teachers – people who have more to do in a day than most can image – demonstrate such genuine care, not only for the children they come into contact with, but for their colleagues and greater school community?

Do we acknowledge the beautiful warmth that radiates from “school friendships”?

Do we reflect often enough to realize that we are part of something far greater than the education of children?

Do we thank our colleagues for all they do?

Do we see how we inspire, challenge and support those around us?

Do we realize that we certainly are a part of “a wonderful world”?

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Jina, Teams, Thinking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

