Authentic opportunities to write 

My children are sitting around me – some starting to ask what the “brown envelope” is. 

Then, one says, “I bet it’s the letters from our pen pals!”  Suddenly , the class becomes charged with excitement. “Stop tantalizing us, Jina,” Shira says. 
She’s used the word we came across earlier in the week. 
So each one gets their letter and eagerly they pull the envelope apart to reveal a carefully constructed note from their “pal” overseas. 
They read every word and then without any promoting , they start to share their letters with their peers. 





 I ask the children to jot down some thoughts in their journals and as they finish “catching their bubbles of thoughts”, I hear,

“Please can we write back?”
No need for extrinsic motivation for anyone. Decisions about paper / computers / laptops are made. 
How often do we create authentic opportunities for writing ? 
Thank you Mr Brown !





About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Inquiry, Jina and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Authentic opportunities to write 

  1. Bravo!! writing for a purpose (their not yours) – exploring rich words and really using them in everyday speech is what writing is about!!

    Like

  2. whatedsaid says:

    Writing for a purpose instead of the dreaded ‘what I did on my weekend’ that happens in so many classrooms… Hooray.
    I’m convinced that teachers who model writing inspire the desire to write in their students too. Loved your journal post and how you used that in your classroom.
    All part of the big picture of encouraging authentic writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

