Technology connecting learners. 

Most often, it is not what we do as teachers, but what students do that lets us know that the job we are doing is making a difference. 

Technology is certainly helping …

This week , I’ve had two boys in my class stay home as they were  sick. 
The first one emailed me daily to touch base and say he’s really sad to be “missing out”. He wondered if we could Face Time with him during the swimming gala so he didn’t miss the whole event. We did. And he was part of the action in a small way. He felt included and thanked us for ensuring we made contact with him. 
Another boy walked in to class this morning and thanked me. I looked up and asked him what I had done. He replied, “You replied to my email and that allowed me to do my presentation. ” 
Oh ! I’d forgotten he’d emailed. A simple gesture in my behalf led to him feeling supported and valued. 
And the cherry on top – a boy who has been sick for three days has been following our blog. Today he saw that we had done some inquiry into the radius of planets and then had used our findings in our place value focus. He took it upon himself to engage in the same process. From his bed. 
 
I’m blown away by what can and is being done with the use of technology ! 
How can we bring the learning to children even more to ensure they value it and want to be a part of it every day ? 
About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Learning, ownership and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

