A tiny touch.

I met a young lady some years ago when I taught (much to my surprise) in a secondary school for the first time.

I never taught her, but she decided that I was her charismatic adult.  It was her belief that I had arrived at her school when she needed someone to talk to. Maybe that was the reason, who is to know?

She had an incredible talent and expressed herself through her  mature and sensitive writing which she would bring to share with me when I stood on yard duty.

Today, 6 years after I met this complex individual, I received an envelope in the mail. It had an international post mark on it and I was intrigued as I tore open the cream envelope. A wedding invitation flittered out, and tucked in her usual meticulous manner, was a handwritten note. There was no doubt who it was from.

“You were my first support. You showed me care and compassion . You showed me how to be strong and be a survivor instead of a victim… I hope you continue to inspire and support many other people like me.”

I am blown away that I had this impact on her. I am proud to have shared a part in helping to shape a child’s opinion of herself.

I think we touch, even if in the tiniest way, our learners’ lives in this way more often than we realize. How wonderful that we sometimes get a glimpse into the chapters that unfold once they leave the structure and systems of the place we call”school”.

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Jina and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A tiny touch.

  1. lsacker says:

    How amazing to have this feedback after so many years. it is always a BIG reminder of what the POWER we might have to change a life to make a difference even if we don’t always see it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

