Partnerships with parents 

Today I had the most wonderful experience with my class. 
 The parents of one of the children, who are authors of the book The Tribers Book of Dreams, came to share their experiences, ideas and success with us. 

   
 We were all taken by their humility and their passion for the characters, setting and events in the book. What struck me most was that the parents were really listening to the children. They were interested in the questions and they were learning from and with the children. They left the classroom feeling as energised as some of us. I had reluctant readers saying that they wanted to read this book and understand the world that the characters live in. They also realized that writing is a huge process that requires in depth research and planning. They had the seed of creative invention planted for them to. Dream … And follow your dreams. 
These parents wanted to be a part of the learning and of the incredibly vibrant community of learners in our room. They embraced my philosophy and helped nurture the culture of independence and ownership of learning in our class. 
I also have a parent who is opposed to my philosophy and has requested a meeting to discuss my reluctance to impose extrinsic motivation for her daughter’s reading at home. 
At the end of the day, I am reminded that we all do things differently. Our philosophies about learning and teaching might not always align with those of everyone with whom we come into contact. I can try my best to ‘please the customer,’ however my pedagogy and practice will always reflect my beliefs about learning.
Tonight, I have chosen to download the Tribers Book of Dreams so that I can chat about it with the children who choose to read it. Hopefully, the ones who don’t will choose to read a book that interests them. Soon. Very soon… 

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Jina, ownership and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

