How blessed I am!

Today I remember what “excitement” feels like. I guess that I encounter it almost every day; but today I felt it through the experience and actions of the children in my class.

I’d say it’s been around 21 years since a birthday felt like a “birthday”. Don’t get me wrong. I am always grateful… For everything I have; everything I am ; and mostly for all the people who make my life what it is. But, I think sometimes I don’t feel the thrill of the day. It means another year older, more wrinkles … Yes – you get it.

Today, my class organised a “surprise party” for me. What I didn’t know was that their parents, our principal, the school secretary and my co-teacher were all in on the plan. The atmosphere in my class was electric this morning. I commented that I was so pleased that they were excited about book week. They looked at me and agreed. The revelation came a few hours later when they laughed , telling me how I had been strung along.

Every child in my class was excited, and when I thanked them, they told me that they had been as excited as if it was their own birthday.

My joy did not come primarily from the beautiful cake or the collusion. It came from the thoughts. The care. The intention to make me feel special.

It is an honour beyond all others to be a part of the community, staff and children at the school in which I teach. I’ve tried to capture the moments, the feelings of today. I will try to draw on the them when I forget … How blessed I am!

IMG_7581

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Jina and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How blessed I am!

  1. hjoubert says:

    High praise indeed! And well deserved.

    Like

Leave a Reply

