“My class won’t get that.”

I have a big mouth and I ask lots of questions.

As a child, I certainly did not attend a PYP school. Many years ago, I went to public primary and secondary schools and I did as I was told (sometimes – when I agreed with what was said to me). I was not exposed to inquiry as a stance as a scholar. I listened. A lot … But I also spoke a lot.

I discussed current affairs, my opinions ( I argued with friends and my family about this) and I learnt to form and articulate my ideas. I do not think that I was ever part of a group where I was the same as all the rest.

Among the learning principles which govern my current pedagogy, it states,  “We learn in different ways, depending on abilities, learning styles, preferences and interest”. I really love this. I think it acknowledges how different every child is. I worry when people say things like, “My class won’t get that.”

How do we go about ensuring that learning is challenging, meaningful, purposeful and engaging? How do we reflect on our practice and ensure that how we perceive ourselves is the way the children in our classes perceive us too?

Are all teachers different ; are all children different too?

Will some “get it” while others need guidance in getting there?

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Inquiry, Jina, ownership, Thinking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

