Disrupting my own life.

It’s amazing to think I’ve been to Manila, shared in the Learning2 experience and now I’m back at school, disrupting my own life!

I love the fact that there wasn’t only “stuff” that we learnt about. There was “stuff” that we created. I feel like I own it! That I want to make sure it gets used.

I was fortunate enough to be a part of a group of people who felt that shaking the boat in schools is not enough. They feel the need to tip it over and jump on the sails.

So, I am attempting something I never thought I would. It’s not Genius Hour  and it’s not Passion Projects. My class has chosen the name “Adventure Time”. (Maybe it’s a combination of the two with a dash of #disruptstand ). I think it goes along the lines of Google’s 20% Time (which  has had some conflicting reports).

We started today watching a clip from Back to the Future and thinking about how ideas are hatched. Then children finished thinking about their ideas, some needing to gather information before completing their pitch.

Ellie, who had never had to ask for information from a stranger before, said she felt “important and powerful ” calling the Melbourne Museum to inquire about their “The Mind” Exhibition. She is interested in dreams – what they mean and how they are interpreted.

Then, students shared their pitches, first in small groups  and then with the class.


  

Edna,  a colleague and friend, managed to pop in. She gave a great suggestion about giving feedback. “Say what you like, and then add your suggestion by using the word ‘and’ instead of ‘but’ . We limited the pitches to 5 minutes. Everyone wanted a chance to pitch and to pitch in and time ran away and the day ended. We didn’t mange to reflect on this part of the process.

Children have come up with a range of ideas.

  • Leigh, after listening to the other pitches and feedback, would like to change his choice.
  • Two girls will be creating a type of fidget toy for kids. The will interview a psychologist and Occupational Therapist to collect data.
  • Two are working on creating a new sport.
  • Jack will be inquiring into how the brain works. He will need a surgeon to assist him.
  • Emily would like to work with Adam (a health store owner) to learn about the herbs that will help her invent a drink to boost the immune system.
  • Brodie and Ezra will be creating a YouTube channel, teaching less privileged children how to create and play music using a variety of instruments.

I’m hoping this grows.. and grows…

 

blog 20http://40.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_ljiis5JEvP1qzcn8zo1_500.jpg

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Inquiry, Jina and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Disrupting my own life.

  1. whatedsaid says:

    This is a beautiful post that reflects the kind of education reform that’s possible when one thoughtful, courageous teacher (at a time) empowers her students to take control of their learning.
    She doesn’t say ‘ I can’t’, ‘I don’t have time’, ‘The demands are too great’, ‘The school structure doesn’t permit this’ and she never, ever says ‘The children can’t do it’. She breaks moulds . And the learning is powerful…

    Like

  2. This is so incredibly lovely. Just the bravery it takes to call a stranger on the phone is inspiring. I can’t wait to see what comes next.

    (PS–I need to get back to blogging! Thanks for the inspiration)

    Like

  3. Pingback: Adventure Time – An experiment in student driven learning | Inquire Within

Leave a Reply

