Changing scoops…

It’s official! I have not “had my own class” for exactly 112 days.

112 2.png

When I announced to my children (the blood relatives at home) that I would be in the learning support department rather than being a classroom teacher, they were devastated. ‘You aren’t going to be a teacher any more!’ my teenage daughter  blubbered and no matter what I said, I could not convince them of anything different.

The transition was initially lonely and on some days, almost purposeless. Although there was never a shortage of “things to do”,  I was mourning the loss of the children that I had grown to love; the colleagues that I had created beautiful connections with and the routines that formed the cone of my everyday scoop of ice-cream – my days at school.

Then a few things started to happen … The planning for the Unleashing Learning  meant that I was talking to inspiring people daily. We were sharing ideas … Collaborating and I joined the Year 6 team, with Dean , Rubi, Rachel and Michelle;   heard what they wanted from the person that was to support them in supporting their learners and began to go into classrooms regularly . Suddenly I started to feel that perhaps the new flavours that were on offer were palatable.

The new connections that I  am forging with people in different teams are becoming the sprinkles on the top. As each day passes, I learn about things I never imagined existed and I ask questions. A myriad of  them … Daily. I know that I will never find all the answers but I am finding delight in sampling the combinations and concoctions that are on offer from every interaction I have.

My blood children are slowly developing a new perception of what a teacher can be and I am developing an understanding of how I can connect to a whole lot more children – in different ways.

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Jina, Learning, Teams and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changing scoops…

  1. lsacker says:

    Fantastic you found your space and that space included children and teams.

    Like

Leave a Reply

