Celebration …

As I finish conferencing with a Year 6 child today, one of my colleagues, Simon,  approaches me and asks if I’ve got time to chat… Of course I have! I only have the privilege of joining his class once a week, and we don’t have much catch up time afterwards, but we always share an idea before I leave the room. Sometimes it’s with children in a small group, sometimes it’s just him and me , sometimes it’s with the whole class.

“I want to show you what the children are doing, Jina. They used Google Docs to share ideas; then gave each other feedback.” He is feeling lighter – it’s one less thing for him to mark and his children have owned what they are doing and are using their brainstorming in their writing.

Do we celebrate the steps that lead our children to success?

Do we allow our children to own, reflect and share enough?

Let’s celebrate and feel free to share our successes!

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 3.58.24 pm

Clear, numbered instructions guided the children to move at their own pace.

 

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 3.58.13 pm

Shared ideas that can be used in anyone’s writing.

Screen Shot 2016-04-13 at 3.57.57 pm

Giving focussed feedback and making suggestions for improvement.

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Learning, ownership, Teams, Thinking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

