More than unleashing formal learning at school?

How blessed I am to have eyes that see… And to be in a place that allows me to reflect, consider what I see, and in many ways, be the “third person”.

The last term has opened so many windows, so many doors and so many new perspectives for me. Unleashing Learning was a catalyst for amazing shifts in practice and thought. What happens in our classrooms is often phenomenal, but what happens outside of them is often beyond my words.

Unleashing learning … Does it look like the teacher who spends her own time placating an upset child by sharing an iPad game? I see empathy and compassion being learnt.

Does it look like the one who arrives at school early to give maths lessons to children in need? I see perseverance being learnt.

Does it look like the library assistant who always has time to chat with and help the children? I see commitment being learnt.

Does it look like the one who rides on the camel to be the partner of a child who does not have one? I see friendship being learnt.

Does it look like the one who listens to her class and gives them the agency to create their own learning engagement? I see love of nature being learnt.

Does it look like one who shares the hard part of their day to show a child that we all have hard times? I see communication being learnt.

Does it look like the one who emails the child after school to see if he is feeling better? I see dedication being learnt.

I cannot count the number of times, in every day, that I see teachers unleashing learning. Learning overflows – into every aspect of our learners’ days.

Where do you see learning unleashed? What do you see being learnt?Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 7.43.13 pm

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Learning, Teams and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More than unleashing formal learning at school?

  1. This is lovely. And as we wrap up our school year, it’s so important for us to look for all these amazing things rather than just counting the minutes. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  2. Jina Belnick says:

    Thanks Rebekah. I think we all need reminders ,sometimes ,about what is important. I keep telling myself that by counting minutes, I’m wishing my life away. Enjoy your end of year moments.

    Like

  3. Pingback: The next step in the Conference Dream … | thespaceofjeans

Leave a Reply

