The X Factor? 

My 14 year old daughter has decided she’d like to be a teacher. Her Year 6 teacher made her convinced of this. Not because the teacher said anything. Oh no. It’s because of who the teacher is. What she is. 

So now … Dear 14 year old has a question.  “What makes a good teacher?”

And my answer to her is simple. “Effective teachers are not made. They are born. Teachers who love teaching are teachers in their hearts, in their souls. ” She takes some time to ponder this and then her response impresses me.  

“You’re right. I can name the ones who inspire the kids. We can feel that they love teaching. And you know… My brother thinks his teacher this year is awesome. He’s never spoken about what the teacher says, what she  does, how she makes him think before. She is a born teacher.” 

What are the qualities that make children feel this way? 

What makes these teachers love teaching, learning?

How does one explain “what makes a good teacher?”

What happens to the ones who don’t get to schools? 

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The X Factor? 

  1. Bridget C-M says:

    Wow. That makes me a little sad. I totally hear what you are saying but it seems a little “fixed mindset” Do we as teachers honestly believe that skills and characteristics can’t be nurtured to create great teachers? That seems kind of ironic considering what we do for a living! Doesn’t it worry you that teaching may not initially come naturally to your child- then what? She’ll believe she wasn’t one of the “chosen” BORN teachers. I would rather she believed that amazing teachers develop over time with hard work, experience, mentoring and a genuine love of teaching and learning…and most of all a love of their students.
    I agree with you on some parts though- every single child deserves a child who looks like they LOVE their job.

    Thought provoking post!

    Like

    • Jina Belnick says:

      Hi Bridget,
      I love your comment. I think that relationships are crucial when working with children and that people who teach for the “wrong reasons ” find it more difficult to connect with and inspire children.
      I certainly believe that we all grow, develop and change our outlook and practice all the time. This is imperative. But I don’t think we consider enough how intuitive children are when it comes to thinking about what their teachers bring to the classroom.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

