Perspective

I’ve been waiting for the right moment to watch this Ted Talk. It arrived in my mailbox almost three days ago. Something stopped me from deleting it … Something stopped me from watching it. I wanted a clear head, a quiet space and time to process. You see, this line, “Why you think you’re right — even if you’re wrong” spoke to me. It spoke loud and clear and beckoned me to enter.

I have been thinking a great deal about perspective. Of mine, the people around me and children in classrooms.

  • What makes us see the same thing so differently to other people?
  • What makes us see things in the same way as some people?
  • What makes us believe that what we see is right, fair?
  • What makes us think that when we listen to different sides of the same story, we are capable of making an unbiased judgement? 

So when I listened to Julia Galef sharing her ideas about the scout and soldier mindset, I listened hard. I tuned in and focussed.

I love her message about the self-worth we have. That believing we are right or wrong is often tied to how we feel about ourselves. That we should feel proud and not ashamed when we realise we are “wrong” … that “We need to learn how to feel intrigued instead of defensive when we encounter some information that contradicts our beliefs.”

How do we show our learners and our colleagues that we value differing opinions, how do we teach children to embrace mistakes? 

How do we teach people that it’s “… the drive not to make one idea win or another lose, but just to see what’s really there as honestly and accurately as you can, even if it’s not pretty or convenient or pleasant,” that is important?

When is my perspective wrong; when is yours right?

Julia has her views… what are yours, what are  the views of the person next to you?

 

Screen Shot 2016-07-01 at 1.41.05 pm

 

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Jina, Learning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

