Taking turns …

The week would be incomplete without my time with B.

Today, he animatedly tells me about the bus that had a tree go through its window on the way to school. He knows every detail, has interviewed a passenger and formed an opinion about the cause of the accident. If I was his class teacher and had more time, I would get him to prepare a news report about the incident. But I’m not … So, I follow the request of his class teacher and we begin by looking at patterns.

His body language tells me that he is not so happy about what we are doing, we go ahead anyway. We make observations and link to the concepts of multiplication and division, that they are working on in class. We play hang man to arrive at the word “consecutive” and I am impressed that he is using what he knows about the letters’ sounds when making his guesses.

Screen Shot 2016-08-12 at 11.15.02 am.png

Then, it’s his turn to share again (seems like today we are taking turns choosing where we are going) and he shows me a free app (“It’s only free for this week”).

Screen Shot 2016-08-12 at 10.43.09 am.png

I ask what the benefits are of the game and he is able to tell me that it makes us use creative thinking and perseverance! This takes us to looking at Geoguessr, an awesome website that Dean , a Year 6 teacher, has shared with me.

B and I read the instructions and he explains what he has understood. We are ready! He is able to navigate around the “roads” with ease, and I point out the signs to him, asking him if they can help us. He reads that he is in France and when I ask where that is, he is unsure. We grab a world map and we use a process of elimination to decide it is in Europe. A couple more clues and he’s ready to guess. “Cool! I was only 286km off.” (aha – some maths in there too!)

 

Screen Shot 2016-08-12 at 11.14.03 am.png

He is keen to do another one. This time we notice that the cars are driving on the right hand side of the road. The bell rings to signal the end of the lesson, but he doesn’t budge. He is looking for clues. Finally, he takes a  random guess. “Only 6075.4 km away! Not bad for a guess.” Before he goes, I ask what he has learnt and he tells me that cars drive on the right hand side of the road in Russia – like in Israel.

Screen Shot 2016-08-12 at 11.14.15 am.png

Until next week, B!

 

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Jina, Learning, learning support, ownership. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taking turns …

  1. Lana says:

    I am always blown away by your ability to make connections between so many curriculum areas in one short session a week! I guess that’s the power of inquiry and the gift of being an exceptional inquiry teacher!!!! Thanks from the bottom of my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

