“The thing” …

If I had to say the “thing” that I have learnt to do more of – that has become a habit, a way of life (and sometimes a real pain) – in recent years, in my capacity as a  PYP teacher, I would say “REFLECTION“.

If I had to say the “thing” that I have learnt to do more of – in recent years, in my capacity as a  parent, I would say “SHARE“.

So what? How do these intensified traits meet, what does this mean?

I find myself considering this when thinking about my children at home and my children at school. I remember hearing, some time ago, that “If you don’t stand up to someone who is bullying others, you are as bad as the bully yourself”.

There have been numerous times that I have reflected on and shared this lesson.

What do we do as parents to model behaviour for our children that we would hope to see them enact?  Behaviours of kindness, giving,  dedication … To know who we are and stand up for what we believe in.

What do we do as teachers to model behaviour for our children that we would hope to see them enact?  Behaviours of questioning, debating, collaborating, persevering, goal setting and seeking …

Sometimes, as models of these behaviours, out intentions are initially not understood by others, but as time  goes on and situations unfold, our children gain an understanding and at some point, they get to decide how they want to reenact what they have learnt; how they want to make it their own.

Here are some questions that come to mind …

  1. What would I do if I was in their situation?
  2. What would I want them to do if they saw I was in a difficult situation?
  3. How do they feel?
  4. Should I be doing something (more)?
  5. What will happen if I don’t act?
  6. What will happen if I do act?
  7. Can the situation be altered and improved?
  8. Might the situation be altered and deteriorate?
  9. What might happen to other people?
  10. What might happen to us?

If I had to ask my peers,  to say the “thing” that they have learnt to do more of – in recent years, in their capacity as a  parent, I wonder what they would say.

If I had to ask my colleagues,  to say the “thing” that they have learnt to do more of – in recent years, in their capacity as teachers, I wonder what they would say.

 

Screen Shot 2016-08-14 at 7.27.36 pm.png

created using Tag Crowd

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Jina, Learning, PYP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

