Technology assisting self correction …

How can technology help with our writing?

J brings her journal with notes that she has made about the book that she is currently reading. She is using an iPod with the audiobook on. At times,  she just listens – enjoying the experience of being immersed literature and at other times, she follows in her copy of the book.

Her teacher has asked us to edit her writing summarising a chapter ,by getting her to read the notes that she has made, aloud, listen to what she has said and make changes while she is listening to her recording.

Screen Shot 2016-08-15 at 2.25.25 pm.png

On her initial reading, J realises immediately that she has confused her tenses. She makes a quick note and carries on. I ask her what she noticed, before she listens to the recording and she says, “I need to edit … When I read aloud, I saw what I need to edit.”

We go through, talking about paragraphing and tenses. She scans through the text with its changes and she is happier. “That helped, she says”. We think we should do this again soon.

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Inquiry, learning support, ownership. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

