A Zine ?

“We made Zines” a colleague told me.
“Zines, what’s that?”
“Look it up!”

I have a quick look, but run out of time.

So today, when one of my students come to see me, I tell him that I have some inquiry that I need help with. He is happy to oblige.

He search for an image of what a “zine” is  first and then predict what it might be. He chooses a YouTube clip(bad choice of clips) and then another (much better) and we make notes about the key words and a wondering that he mutters.

 

The “good clip”.

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 4.00.28 pm.png

“So what?” you ask. Well, he decides that we need to go on a hunt.

“Are there any of these in our school? Let’s go see.”

We hunt around the primary and secondary offices and he compares and contrasts what he has learnt to what he is seeing. The school magazine is the closest thing he can find, but it has “too much writing”.

“Lets make one for when kids are sitting in the office or when families come to visit our school,” he decides.

So we discuss a plan of action and go off to shoot some “action shots of learning”. He chats animatedly about what he would like to include and how he would like to present it.

This one is going to take some time and effort, we think.

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Jina, learning support, ownership. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Zine ?

  1. Pingback: The power of time … | thespaceofjeans

  2. Pingback: Learners sharing experiences and knowledge | thespaceofjeans

Leave a Reply

