Part of the journey …

I am on a journey of inquiry – changing my opinions, trying new things and asking more questions every day. Often, I am confused by what I “see, think and wonder” …

Part of the journey is considering how I use provocations and questions to foster learning and curiosity.

This week, I choose this image (taken from this site)  and ask children to take some thinking time and write down anything that they are wondering. If they have no wonderings, that’s fine. Everyone comes up with things that they are wondering today.

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 10.27.53 am.png

Some children make immediate connections to the multiplication we have ben focussing on in class …

“What would the array look like if there was another column?”

Others look at the patterns and the numbers …
“Why is one side going up in 3s and the other side in 2s?”

“Why are the evens and the odds mixed?”

We do a pair and share and then children hand in their sticky notes.

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 10.45.38 am.png

Everything is an assessment … I notice the types of connections children are making; I notice who needs time to think and who needs to share thoughts; I notice who is asking literal questions and who is ready to explore more complex concepts …

The provocation leads to some discussion and then someone brings up the picture story book that we read last time.

“Remember how we were doubling and then doubling again to look at 4 times our number?”

“Remember how I was exploring arrays that can be made with 43?”

“Remember we were looking at those things .. What are they called?”

And so, we continue along the journey. Two girls place themselves at the front of the class to make notes as people shre their thoughts while they are using equipment to see which numbers “fit in the box and which don’t”.

Only one girls has found what “the words” are and she wants to teach us.

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 10.38.31 am.png

Our exit card is to say what we connections we have made or what is confusing us. “Everything is an assessment.”

I need to muddle through what I have seen, think about what’s next and wonder about what will push our thinking even more.

 

 

 

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Inquiry, Jina and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

