The power of time …

The Zine I have been part of creating with one of my  Year 5 learners is making progress.

I only have the pleasure of connecting with B once a week – for around 30 minutes. Every week, for the past four school weeks, B and I have planning. He has been photographing, talking to teachers, collecting images from people and throwing ideas around.

He asks things like :

  • Should I put captions?
  • Should I change the background?
  • Is it okay to  have only  primary school children in photos?

I never answer. Neither does he. He just makes decisions as he goes along.

He never asks things like:

  • When will this be finished?
  • Can we do something else?
  • Why is this taking so long?

Neither do I.

Screen Shot 2016-10-14 at 2.00.21 pm.png

You see, B sees the purpose. He wants it to be the way he wants it to be. He wants to use the colour palette to create just the right tone for the background. He wants the font to be vertical and the pictures to be grouped. I see the purpose too!

Screen Shot 2016-10-14 at 2.22.39 pm.png

I am left wondering many things …

  • What would it look like if learners made important decisions about what they are doing and how they are doing it more often? Would they learn more? Less?
  • Is it meaningful and purposeful to create time to do things once a week? Does the time allow us to reflect or does it hinder the process?
  • Do we allow learners enough time to think or do we jump in to save them; finish their thoughts and add to their ideas?

B has his next idea hatching! He has told me what we will be doing next …

 

 

About Jina Belnick

I am a full time learner - tumbling head first into education and joining my learners on the amazing adventures that we encounter daily at our PYP school in Melbourne, Australia.I am currently working in learning support, feeling the waters and seeing how teachers and learners are best supported, I am a listener and a leader, an inquirer and a follower. I'm loving the ride!
This entry was posted in Learning, learning support, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The power of time …

  1. lanafleiszig says:

    Jina I feel blessed to have a teacher for B who walks the talk. Thank you!!

    Like

  2. Jina Belnick says:

    He is the highlight of my week !
    Thank you, Lana!

    Like

Leave a Reply

